Skip to content

review: pinterest snack and craft

April 6, 2012

My son’s first birthday was last week and I tried valiantly to craft the heck out of it, but really I think those Pins you see of perfectly styled parties were put together by people who have way more time than I have. I don’t mean to hate on SAH moms or anything, but after working all week, having band practices and errands, there left little time to stencil, glue, or bake.

You have way too much time on your hands, or a fleet of minions.

The only true craft I made was printing out my son’s face and taping it to straws. I thought the end result was pretty cute, but barely anyone at my party used them. Too precious to use? I also used a so-bad-it’s-good photo of him, because it’s funny.

He is free to hate me in 14 years.

As for a Pinterest recipe, I tried out these No-Bake Energy Bites. The recipe is beyond simple and you can make a ton of different variations.

nom nom nom

I used oats, honey, almond butter, homemade vanilla, wheat germ, and Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips (they were on sale!).

These are pretty rad. I think if I make them in the future I’ll use peanut butter (my favorite–I used almond butter this time because I don’t like it as much and wanted to use it up) and brown rice syrup (I love honey but in combination with other stuff I think honey can overpower other flavors). I haven’t frozen them yet but I think they’re going to blow my mind. I highly recommend for a yummy snack!

On the subject of food, the past week or so I’ve been semi-vegan. I say semi because I’ve had some fish and chicken here and there, but only for a few meals. That’s one of the frustrating things about food choices, veganism seems like an all-or-nothing thing, but for my motivation I’ve declared myself mostly vegan and if I eat some animal products here and there (like honey), I’m not going to agonize about it.

My diet switch is not about animal rights, although I do care for animals and I’m glad this helps on that front, but more about my health. My work had a health fair a few weeks ago and my weight, cholesterol, and blood pressure were all very high. With a family history of cancer, heart disease, and various other medical issues, I know I have to work on my body and mind. From past dietary changes I know cutting out dairy makes me feel better. I am lactose intolerant but I ate dairy anyway because hot damn, cheese is good. But I know not eating it makes me feel lighter and my stomach issues clear up. Although it’s only been a week, I feel more clear-headed and I have more energy.

I’ve also downloaded the myfitnesspal app for my Kindle, and for a secret bean-counter like myself I’ve been enjoying counting calories. Looking at a list of what you’re actually eating helps you focus on cutting out the crap from your diet.

I’ve made a dedication to myself to be semi-vegan for a month, and I’m sure if I see results with weight loss and general health I’ll stick with it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

