Skip to content

reaching for the infinite

July 13, 2011

Photo by Camille Seaman

Well, I’m back. Of course it took me a long time to get back here. Babies take time, and there is little motivation at the moment for a blog only one person reads…but I know she appreciates my posts.

As was expected, having my son kind of, you know, changed my life. It is certainly different. I can’t tell if I’m a horrible person or it’s normal to miss my old life; after all, I had the baby at 31 and that was 31 years of getting my way all of the time. I love him in so many ways, however, and I am enjoying getting to know this new little personality. I love making him smile and laugh and can’t wait until he’s a little bit older to show him more of the world.

I thought I’d follow up on an earlier post of New Year’s resolutions for my life and how things turned out seven months later. I promise all of my posts won’t be about the baby (all of the time).

1. Have my baby.

Mission Accomplished! Things went easier than I had hoped. My baby is rad.

2. Lose weight.

I lost all of my pregnancy weight the first two weeks (not recommended). I had a bad case of the “baby blues”–more like a temporary deep depression. I cried almost non-stop those first couple of weeks, but I’m fine now. I’m working on taking off more weight in a healthier way by eating right. Lifting 17 lbs of baby pudge is helping with the exercise.

3. Simplify, simplify, simplify.

It has been hard finding time to do things like organize the house, but I did lower some bills. I’m working on getting the house decluttered but it has been moving at a glacier’s pace.

4. Pay off debt/save.

As I’ve said before, I’ve lowered some bills, and I’ve also taken my credit cards out of my wallet. I’m trying to get us to learn to live within our means, which is easier said than done. It’s hard to adjust to a life spent largely at home rather than at restaurants, bars, etc., but we have little choice now!

5. Keep friends.

This has been very challenging. We don’t get to see a lot of our friends nowadays, and it feels like some of them are pretty wary of the baby. That’s fine…to be expected…but I do feel I need to keep reminding people that we’re not totally housebound.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 9:20 pm

    This is a good list. And you will never lose your true friends my love, regardless of how much time you are able to spend with them or however many miles are between you. xoxo

Leave a Reply

