Skip to content

fear is the mind-killer

December 14, 2010

This morning I realized I have some really ugly clothes.  My closet has some really unfortunate choices.  The outfit I’m wearing now is pretty borderline, actually, and I’m a little embarrassed to be wearing it but a) my maternity wardrobe is a bit limited, b) dirty snow limits my already limited options (i.e. no light khaki pants, because GODFORBID they get dirty*), and c) I paid good money for these maternity corduroy pants, damnit, so I should wear them at least a second time.

My resolution after the ejection of my unholy spawn in March is to lose enough weight to be able to buy stuff at Madewell, and then when I reach that goal, actually buy an outfit from there.  It’s pricey, but I won’t have a crisis on a Tuesday morning in 2011 thinking that surely my sartorial taste never evolved from Middle School trips to Dots at the Seven Hills shopping center.

I can't guarantee I won't be embarrassed by this outfit in 2012, but I'll be safe in 2011 for sure.

*My freshman year of High School I had a pair of white jeans that I liked.  One time in January I was waiting for the bus, and as I lived near Cleveland, there was a lot of snow/slush everywhere.  A RTA bus flew by and I SWEAR it careened into a big slush pile on purpose, spraying me and my lovely white jeans with dirty water.  The second time I wore them (after being laundered), I found out that we were starting a clay project in art class.  I walked out of there COVERED in red clay.  Those jeans didn’t survive that catastrophe.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 2:03 am

    Oh man, I am also having a clothing crisis. Mine has to do with stepping it up a bit style-wise (which I don’t like because at heart I am a jeans and t-shirt kinda girl, always have been and always will be), mainly for work, and also trying to figure out how to layer appropriately for the weather and climate controlled environments. Let me tell you, it is not easy. If I could just wear leggings and boots with a long t-shirt and hoodie to EVERYTHING I would be a very happy girl. No such luck as of yet.

Leave a Reply

