Skip to content

the ultimate

July 9, 2010

Alchemy, according to that most authoritative of sources, Wikipedia, is “both a philosophy and an ancient practice focused on the attempt to change base metals into gold, investigating the preparation of “the elixir of longevity,” and achieving ultimate wisdom”…blah blah blah. I don’t try to turn lead into gold, but I find a loose analogy between domestic pursuits like sewing, home renovation, knitting, etc., and alchemy: the transformation of something raw and unformed to something valuable and beautiful.  You and I may never find ultimate wisdom in k2 p2 and French seams, but we may find personal satisfaction and do-goodedness.

That being said, I’m attempting to sew Burda’s Ruby shorts pattern.

I bought some red and white seersucker for the shorts, but since I’ve been working on it, I’m a little worried it will be too see-through for practical use.

The sewing is so far so good…or should I say sew far sew good?  Ha.  People, I’m here all night.

I’ve noticed, though, in the user pic submissions on the Burda site, no one bothered to add all the pockets.  Am I just a masochist for attempting to add them?  We shall see.

My inspiration?  User zozowahine‘s retro pinup red shorts.

Isn’t this absolutely the cutest thing EVAR?  Unfortunately I should have paid more attention to what fabric she used instead of just falling for seersucker, as the weight (and opacity) isn’t there.  I should have gotten a bottomweight instead to give them structure.

Ah well…as I said before, we shall see.  So far I’ve just been knocking around with topstitching flap pockets and screwing up the slit pocket.  I’ll post pictures soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

